About us

Behind openHPI is a dedicated team of scientists who are members of the Chair of “Internet Technologies and Systems” at HPI, led by Prof. Dr. Christoph Meinel.

Where We’ve Come From

openHPI benefits from our many years of research activities in the fields of e-learning/ teleteaching and the social and semantic web. Various tools and methods for the production and dissemination of educational content have resulted from this research:

  • The tele-TASK system allows the inexpensive and simple dual-screen recording of lectures and their dissemination via a modern portal enriched with semantic search and social collaboration (http://tele-task.de/).
  • The Tele-Board allows creative collaboration between virtual and globally distributed teams (http://tele-board.com/).
  • The Tele-Lab “IT Security” is used in teaching to give students access to virtual computer and network environments while learning, and for the practical implementation of security techniques via the Internet (more information).
  • The Semantic Media Explorer (SEMEX) enables a semantic search of multimedia data. The data is semantically analyzed in an automated process (more information).
  • Blog intelligence enables the efficient analysis of the exponentially growing amounts of data in social networks and the blogosphere (http://blog-intelligence.com).

In the implementation of openHPI we were able to draw on the knowledge and experiences gained from these tools and, at the same time, create new insights and a deeper understanding of learning processes in the social and mobile web, which flows back into our research.

Where We're Going

The openHPI-Team, under the direction of Prof. Dr. Christoph Meinel, has designed an entirely new, even better platform for the offer of its interactive online courses. This platform is based on the experiences of openHPI’s first interactive online courses (MOOCS) and has been developed in collaboration with a large student team. The service-oriented platform architecture allows the flexible integration of:

  • Innovative learning tools and virtual labs, such as gaming features or the Tele-Lab for Internet security,
  • Personal learning environments (e-portfolio systems) and social networks and
  • Content production workflows that have already proven highly valuable, in the tele-TASK portal.

Our Most Important Questions

In our openHPI research, the team focuses on the following questions:

  • Analytics: What conclusions can be drawn from the analysis of learner behavior and how can this be used to improve the online learning program?
  • Semantic and social web: What new semantic and social web technologies can be developed to support the understanding of and navigation in online learning materials?
  • Virtual learning labs: How can environments where learners interact with virtual IT systems be made more scalable for massive participation?
  • Gamification: How can the motivation of learners be increased through the functionality and design principles found in online gaming?
  • Innovative Learning Services: How can learning be supported in the heterogeneous contexts of where learners live and work?

Who we are

  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Meinel Project Lead openHPI and Institute Director of Hasso Plattner Institute
  • Dipl.-Inf. Christian Willems Technical Lead openHPI
  • Dipl.-Inf. (FH) Jan Renz Research Associate
  • Thomas Staubitz, M.Sc. Research Associate
  • Christiane Hagedorn Research Associate
  • Tobias Rohloff, M.Sc. Research Associate
  • Max Bothe, M.Sc. Research Associate
  • Ahmed Shams Research Associate
  • Ralf Teusner Research Associate (Research Group EPIC)
  • Franz Liedke, M.Sc. Developer
  • Jan Graichen, M.Sc. Developer
  • Malte Swart, M.Sc. Developer
  • Matthias Wiesner Administrator openHPI
  • Stefanie Schweiger Communication and Relationship Management
  • Hans-Joachim Allgaier, Public Relations
  • Dipl.-Inf. Matthias Bauer Research Associate, tele-TASK team
  • Martin Malchow Research Associate, tele-TASK team
  • Dr. Haojin Yang Research Associate, tele-TASK team

openHPI Team From left to right: Ahmed Shams, Matthias Wiesner, Malte Swart, Tobias Rohloff, Christian Willems, Max Bothe, Stefanie Schweiger, Prof. Christoph Meinel, Jan Graichen, Christiane Hagedorn, Jan Renz, Ralf Teusner, Franz Liedke, Thomas Staubitz

Many of our HPI students work in the openHPI development team:

  • Dominic Sauer, B.Sc.
  • Taras Sylenko
  • Bjarne Sievers
  • Nele Noack
  • Sebastian Serth, B.Sc.
  • Jakob Mache
  • Simon Dietz
  • Jascha Beste
  • Adrian Steppat
  • Eric Zieme
  • Ann Katrin Kuessner

Master theses on openHPI

Current master theses

  • Sören Oldag
  • Nicco Kunzmann
  • Henriette Dinger
  • Jonas Keutel
  • Sebastian Serth

Finished master theses

  • Nicolas Fricke, M.Sc.
  • Hauke Klement, M.Sc.
  • Thomas Klingbeil, M.Sc.
  • Christoph Müller, M.Sc.
  • Dominic Petrick, M.Sc.
  • Tobias Pfeiffer, M.Sc.
  • Gerardo Navarro Suarez, M.Sc.
  • Sebastian Woinar, M.Sc.
  • Daniel Hoffmann, M.Sc.
  • Tino Junge, M.Sc.
  • Franz Liedke, M.Sc.
  • Rakesh Kumar Sah, M.Sc.
  • Nicolas Wittstruck, M.Sc.
  • Kai-Adrian Rollmann, M.Sc.
  • Tobias Rohloff, M.Sc.
  • Max Bothe, M.Sc.
  • Kirstin Heidler, B.Sc.
  • Sebastian Brückner, B.Sc.

Former members of the openHPI project

Michael Totschnig, PhD, Dipl.-Inf. Elnaz Mazandarani, M.Sc., Stefan Bunk, B.Sc., Max Jendruk, B.Sc., Daniel Moritz, M.Sc., Keven Richly, M.Sc., Mandy Klingbeil, B.Sc., Jonas Müller, Johannes Jasper, B.Sc., Sebastian Kliem, B.Sc.

Contact the openHPI team

In the event of any questions, we welcome you to contact us via the help desk. Just click the orange “help desk” button on the right side of the page. You can also write us an email to stefanie.schweiger@hpi.de.

This page was last changed at Wed, 20 Mar 2019 10:33:13 +0000.

Your request has been sent to our support team, and will be answered as soon as possible.

Thank You!

Oops something went wrong.